Birthdays and Thanksgiving

28 Nov

Today is Ditto’s 6th birthday.  It’s also Thanksgiving Day.

She and Dot are the reason I will never regret marrying Green.

When she was born 6 years ago we were struggling to make our rent and working hard to meet our goals. Green was a 3rd year law student (if you were married when your spouse attended law school then you know what this insanity can be like) and she was born during his fall exams. I was all alone, except for the birth, because Green had exams and our families lived hundreds of miles away.

I had this little baby. This little girl with clear green eyes and cupids bow mouth. I had been blessed abundantly. I didn’t care that I was alone struggling to stay awake and still couldn’t figure out how to make my full breast produce any milk.  She was so warm, tiny, pink and perfect.  I was thankful for what I had.

We were so broke.  I was the only one working while he studied. We lived in a tiny apartment with our little dog (practice baby), Peppa, and we struggled to make ends meet in San Francisco.  We were the first of our friends to have any kids at all.  We had no one to help us and yet we were not afraid. Perhaps it was the fact we knew little to nothing about the perils of parenthood but it was something we embraced and laughed through.  Our babymoon with Ditto was a wonderfully scary and hopeful time.  Nothing would divide us, we thought at the time. Nothing.

And still I regret none of it.

I don’t regret marrying Green.

He is the father of my children and the best part of him is in them.  His eyes, their mischievous laugh, fierce intellect and sweet affection.

Looking back its true that these last two years of holidays have been so very hard. Full of anger, resentment, fear and loss.  I can’t live like this anymore.  Neither can Green.

Today Ditto woke up so excited to greet the 6th year of her life. It’s so full of hope. So full of joy.  Nothing scares her. She is secure knowing she is loved and her gratitude for simple inexpensive gifts make me proud.  Ditto reminds me of how I used to be… so full of gratitude, hope and joy.  I think I’m gonna try to steal some back from her today – siphon off a little of that childish innocent grace and inhale.

Today I will be grateful because Green placed clean towels in the bathroom without me asking.  He nudged me into doing the morning yoga for MY health and not his weight loss goals. I will breathe deep the scent of the coffee he made me and big breakfast he prepared.  Green is obviously trying to shower with me love because he knows this Thanksgiving is a trigger.  He should – this holiday season has been a trigger of pain and loss. Green is looking for redemption and I have the power to give it.

Well today I will try to push down those feelings and little this Thanksgiving trigger what it should – gratitude that I was blessed with the birth of my first child who is healthy, bright and sweet. I will be grateful I was granted a a full family and the resources to provide for them.  I will trigger the Thanksgiving I deserve – I deserve a Thanksgiving full of love and laughter.

Image

I wish you the same. I wish you a season of lessened pain where the grief can begin to fade. It’s not easy, mine is not gone… maybe never but I will try to be open to the many blessings I still have.   Happy Holidays.

6 Responses to “Birthdays and Thanksgiving”

  1. amanda November 28, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Happy Birthday, Ditto! So glad you’re at peace this thanksgiving. I took a break from cooking and cleaning to check my email and got your new post. Enjoy your beautiful day. It was so nice to read your post today. Inspiring and positive (things my nature tends to avoid!)
    Amanda

    • Flaca December 6, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      thanks, i hope you a had a good holiday!

      i tend to be a cynic, its a defense mechanism i think. for now though i am trying to be better to myself and hopeful mostly because i don’t want to let my husband’s stupid actions turn me into the cranky biznatch that he told his whore that i was.

      living well is the best revenge!

  2. bamboozled1 November 28, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    happy birthday miss ditto! congrats mama, youve done so well!
    i like what you say about siphoning off the childhood innocence, i just spent the morning running around with a bunch of 4 yr olds at their school visit, it was extra special because my older sons class were in charge of the activities and entertainment! (i managed to set the little ones with their foam bats and balls on big bro and his mates which was hilarious) but yeah, that childlike view of the world, so full of wonder and magic and play, its such a nice energy to be around. very catchy! and so very important to remember!

    • Flaca December 6, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      thank you. yeah, thank God for the kiddos. they make me laugh with their observations on life. if only we all lived in the simple ways in which they do – their insight is contagious if we are open to it!

  3. zenpoppy December 2, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I’m glad you had such a positive attitude and I hope Thanksgiving itself went really well! It’s nice to hear that your husband was making an effort.

    • Flaca December 6, 2013 at 11:40 am #

      right?! I deserve it!

      thanksgiving went well. the husband hung the christmas lights in rain! maybe he feels guilty? i don’t know i sat inside drinking coffee and decorating a tree with my kids! ;)

Leave a Reply.

whinywife

Relationships

Renewing a Right Spirit

DJ's Journey to Living Well Again

Chicken Daily

just a chick in her daily life

marriagerecoveryblog

Weathering The Storm of Marital Infidelity

Shattered By My Husband's Affair

Picking Up The Pieces, One Shard at a Time

betrayedin2012's Blog

Ten years is the new Forever

affairs, alcohol, and antidepressants

Post-Affair/Post-Suicide Blog Therapy, Uncensored

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Marriage Gems

Research-based marriage tips and insights

Karma's Payment Plan

Life's funny that way

InfinityMadness2

the daily crazies

The Pillars of Her Earth

Understanding Bipolar, and recovering from traumatic events

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

Always Yours, Bee

from accident to affair to ever-after

Lifewithoutinstructions's Blog

living well despite a lack of written instructions

waikikipepper

celebrating change

jack joseph's mom

if love could have saved you, you would have lived forever..

Leave it on the page

A blog about everything

Dawn Rae Miller

young adult author

move beyond the affair

Hope for Healing and Happiness

I Love You But I Am Not In Love With You

Trying to Make Sense of the Divorce

Being a Beautiful Mess

Dealing with the mess of life, love, betrayal, divorce, and dating

The Girl Next Door

The cynic who still wants the fairytale? This aint gonna have a happy ending.

sexdownunder

Sex, Love & Relationships in Australia

trishinreallife

life in all its messy, unedited, brutally honest reality...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

