His Anchor

24 Sep

amelia tiffany box 09-2013So I survived turning 40! Hooray!  Green was at his best being accommodating and patient.   I did manage to sneak in a deep tissue massage and we went out for Chinese noodles for dinner (required for a long life! I’m told), strawberry filled doughnuts (I don’t like cake), cards sweetly drawn by Ditto and Dot and a simple, thoughtful gift from Green.  Held here by my youngest daughter, Dot, who was in love with the wrapping and pretty blue Tiffany box that I eagerly anticipated opening.

Inside was this pretty Tiffany Twist anchor charm and bracelet.  I love it – simple and meaningful.  You see for us it follows a theme – earlier in the summer for our anniversary he’d given me a fancy beach themed tote that had anchor detailing on it as tiffany charm bracelet anchorwell.   More than that we both have an affinity for pirates and boats since he’d been the editor for his Maritime Journal in Law School during the time we lived in the San Francisco Bay Area – broke but deeply in love.   It was nice to know that he’d remembered those simple sweet days that seem so long ago sometimes.   With both gifts he’d said that to him the anchor symbolized how much I had done to keep our family together when he had failed us.  How strong I have been to anchor him towards helping him heal and becoming the good person he was before.

In the card Green gave me for my birthday he wrote,

“I love you.  Today and everyday and I want to make sure you understand and know that.  

I am giving you an anchor. 

It has been viewed by many as a symbol of new beginnings.  When a ship sets sail it draws in its anchor and shows to the world that it is setting off for a new voyage.

I want to begin a new voyage with you.  

As long as you and I are together, with our family, we have all we need to have an amazing adventure.

Love, Green”

So how do I feel. Well I do feel loved. Just yesterday I posted about finding love outside of our romantic expectations… and here I am posting about feeling good about finding it in Green. Well I guess that’s the nature of love, right?  We are emotional creatures and we seek love where we can find it – sometimes in healthy or unhealthy ways.   Yesterday I received a tremendous outpouring of affection and generosity.   It felt good.  But of course in the way my marriage has played out I was looking with a certain level of expectation toward what Green would do.  Of course I would – he’s my unfaithful husband who at one time used my age (whether it mattered or not) as a hateful bomb that he lobbed at me to justify his stupid cheating.   Its probably not that healthy of me but he met my needs and that’s what mattered.

I know Green is trying.  I am trying to accept his attempts at saving ‘us.’  Could he do more? Yes, of  course.  Is it unfair to make me be the anchor? The strong one who keeps it together? Yes and No.  Yes because it is unfair and sexist.  But no, its not unfair, because I would inevitably choose it and I wouldn’t have it any other way – it is in my nature to fix things, to mother and to keep things moving forward.

One final thought, I don’t know if I have shared this with you yet but I don’t know how to swim.   Never learned how to swim.  Yeah, I grew up in a pretty rural desert area and we were very poor – no fancy swimming pools around.  Yes, its on my bucket list of things to do before I die.  But I wondered- What does it say about me as an anchor who can’t swim? Is that why I am the anchor because I can’t swim away?

3 Responses to “His Anchor”

  1. leaveitonthepage September 24, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!! I’m glad it turned out to be a good one.
    My H and I also love anchors. He got my name tattooed on his arm over a large anchor. He says I keep him anchored in love. Sweet yes but it’s too bad it had to come on the heals of infidelity.

    Life is such a strange journey.

    • Flaca September 24, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Aww, thanks. That’s a very sweet coincidence! Green had mentioned that he’d be getting an anchor tattoo as well! You’re right it’s a sweet thought after such a very strange journey. Glad to hear from you.

  2. shawnthewife September 27, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Happy Birthday, my friend!! 40 is a great place for a fresh start. When you get to 50…we’ll talk! Menopause is a bitch..and so am I! LOL! Hugs!

Leave a Reply.

betrayedin2012's Blog

Ten years is the new Forever

affairs, alcohol, and antidepressants

Post-Affair/Post-Suicide Blog Therapy, Uncensored

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

Kissing A Fool

Covered in Kisses and Lies

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Marriage Gems

Research-based marriage tips and insights

Karma's Payment Plan

Life's funny that way

InfinityMadness2

the daily crazies

The Pillars of Her Earth

Understanding Bipolar, and recovering from traumatic events

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

Always Yours, Bee

from accident to affair to ever-after

Lifewithoutinstructions's Blog

living well despite a lack of written instructions

waikikipepper

celebrating change

Renewing a Right Spirit

DJ's Journey to Living Well Again

jack joseph's mom

if love could have saved you, you would have lived forever..

Leave it on the page

A blog about everything

Dawn Rae Miller

young adult author

It won't always be bad...

But maybe it's not as bad as you think...

move beyond the affair

Hope for Healing and Happiness

I Love You But I Am Not In Love With You

Trying to Make Sense of the Divorce

Being a Beautiful Mess

Dealing with the mess of life, love, betrayal, divorce, and dating

The Girl Next Door

The cynic who still wants the fairytale? This aint gonna have a happy ending.

sexdownunder

Sex, Love & Relationships in Australia

trishinreallife

life in all its messy, unedited, brutally honest reality...

The Official blog of Rod Arters

A thought-provoking blog about life, mistakes, faith, hope & grace. Oh, and sometimes it is funny.

AFFAIRCARE

...nouthetic, Christian care after an affair.

unloving you

it's time

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

