Love Me… On my Birthday

23 Sep

40th-birthdaySo let me start off by saying Green did not forget my birthday.   Yay!  In fact he’s being kind of spazzy annoying about it… making sure I feel loved and all that other stuff.  It’s nice and I am trying to not be an ungrateful bitch about the whole thing (because all I think is that is that his whore is 25… FML).

Anyway, yes, It’s a significant birthday to be sure… whoo hoo I’m 40!  I know I am supposed to be doing something awesome but well there’s just no time today with kiddos, work and… life.  Anyway, well there are plans for the weekend to go dancing – that something to look forward towards.  We actually had a good weekend… a la Mothers Day I was treated to a pre-birthday Margarita at Disneyland by Green and  the kiddos.   That was nice.

Still I was feeling kind of grouchy last night about the whole thing… the affair, I can’t believe my husband is a dirtbag whore, I can’t believe I stayed married to a cheating whore, worse.. I can’t believe I’m 40 and married to a lying cheating whore.. the usual post-infidelity pity party.  It next took me to mouthing off to Green about his poor choices, ordering him to pick up spicy tofu for dinner as I made him watch me eat and call him fat.  Nice!  As the mind movies of him and his whore set in…. I took to reading on my phone and watching Dexter’s final episode because screwed up serial killers make me feel better about my own life.  In the middle of it all I stumbled on article about the meaning of feeling loved on your birthday entitled, WHAT MY BOYFRIEND FORGETTING MY BIRTHDAY TAUGHT ME ABOUT LOVE!   (Don’t get turned off about the title’s enthusiasm, its not all puppies and unicorns, and  I found the article to be quite useful so I thought I would share it.)

Again, Green did not forget my birthday but I found it relevant because what Green did by cheating on me was forgetting to show me love.  Show me friendship. Show me decency and compassion.   That’s the part of his actions that hurt me the most.   Or least it was my perception of it.  Yes he was an asshole but it did not invalidate me as a person who is loved and can be loved.  In reading the article I realized that I don’t  need Green to show me ANY of those things to be a person who is worthy of love.  Love is not bound by the limits of my marriage.  I have for very long felt defined by that and certainly his actions of cheating me made me feel very unloved.  But I guess I never realized that with or without Green I am loved.   That I am lovable.   Whether its my wiggling kids, furry dogs, my emotion shy mother and father… my true friends who quietly listen and let me rage and then goof on me..   I am loved.

This part of the article, at the end, helped me feel most grounded. I found it an interesting proposition to help me re-frame my attitude, at least for the day.

When we focus on getting love from one special person, we will suffer. When we focus instead on giving love and being open to receiving love in all its forms, love is what we will feel.

Are you suffering right now because you think you don’t have love from one special person in your life?

If so, I invite you to try out an exercise I recommend to my clients called “looking for evidence of love.”

Instead of focusing on the love that you think is missing right now, start focusing on all of the ways you are already loved right now.

Maybe it’s your mom, your friends, your kids, your coworkers, the sunshine warming your shoulders, or even the guy at Starbucks giving you a free latte.

For one day, focus on all of the ways you are receiving love from so many different sources.

The day after, focus on GIVING as much love as you possibly can.

Your world will change.  All with a simple shift of perception.

Thank you friends, readers… for listening to me… for reading and letting  purge the anger and hurt that Green’s infidelity cause me to feel.   Your presence and support is such a gift to me!   As I close down the hours on my birthday I am grateful to you for your friendship, your comments and your stories… you’re support has been critical to my healing and I love you for it.   I wish YOU nothing but the best today and everyday.

4 Responses to “Love Me… On my Birthday”

  1. bombladoze September 23, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    *birthday huggggs*
    thanks for the article… im going to hang out in the flower section of the supermarket!

    • Flaca September 24, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      right?! me too… i want to know what store she shops at! ;)

  2. pinkstellar September 26, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    Hello and happy birthday. I too was suffering because of my cheating partner. He made me feel shitty on my birthday (September 14) and admitted the next day that “he can’t end his affair” but he won’t want me to leave either. I saw 2 different psychologists one for my couple and other for myself. Nothing gave me light really. But yesterday I went to see an osteopath. Few hours after that I felt better. I don’t know what he did to me but it worked. Whenever I would think of the disgusting OW I don’t feel bitter anymore. I know I am better than her in so many ways. For one I have conscience. Then today, what a great way to start my healing day than to read this wonderful blog of yours. I am inspired. Thank u <3

    • Flaca September 26, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      Happy belated birthday! Sorry to hear to hear about what you’re going through. You are right – you will always be better than the OW. Whatever the outcome… know that! Yes, you have dignity and a conscience… the OW I find are often very damaged and selfish people. The OW (or man) are interested in ‘taking’ things from others because it makes them feel important. That’s sad, right? So you are right.. you are BETTER than the OW and your situation. You are not alone, sweetie, thanks for visiting and commenting. Big hugs to you.

Leave a Reply.

whinywife

Relationships

Renewing a Right Spirit

DJ's Journey to Living Well Again

Chicken Daily

just a chick in her daily life

marriagerecoveryblog

Weathering The Storm of Marital Infidelity

Shattered By My Husband's Affair

Picking Up The Pieces, One Shard at a Time

betrayedin2012's Blog

Ten years is the new Forever

affairs, alcohol, and antidepressants

Post-Affair/Post-Suicide Blog Therapy, Uncensored

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Marriage Gems

Research-based marriage tips and insights

Karma's Payment Plan

Life's funny that way

InfinityMadness2

the daily crazies

The Pillars of Her Earth

Understanding Bipolar, and recovering from traumatic events

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

Always Yours, Bee

from accident to affair to ever-after

Lifewithoutinstructions's Blog

living well despite a lack of written instructions

waikikipepper

celebrating change

jack joseph's mom

if love could have saved you, you would have lived forever..

Leave it on the page

A blog about everything

Dawn Rae Miller

young adult author

move beyond the affair

Hope for Healing and Happiness

I Love You But I Am Not In Love With You

Trying to Make Sense of the Divorce

Being a Beautiful Mess

Dealing with the mess of life, love, betrayal, divorce, and dating

The Girl Next Door

The cynic who still wants the fairytale? This aint gonna have a happy ending.

sexdownunder

Sex, Love & Relationships in Australia

trishinreallife

life in all its messy, unedited, brutally honest reality...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

