Never Let A Good Crisis Go to Waste

29 Apr

My day to day work is in politics (No, we are not ALL heartless scumbags. Please don’t hold it against me, I am a good person!) and often we use the quote “Never Let a Good Crisis Go to Waste*” to capture a moment, a feeling, to launch a campaign or a committee. In my work and personal life it haswecandoit always served as a way for me to take a negative, absorb the ‘hit’ and turn it around into something that advances our agenda or our candidate or my own goal or project. For me, as a person, who works constantly trying to ‘fix things’ it’s helped me figure out how to frame arguments, dissect opposition and set the stage to basically run over the opposition with the very ‘power’ or ‘abuse’ that ‘they’ have used against us.

My recent health scare has had me looking at my husband’s affair in a whole new light. Thinking about how I might have to make a decision to live my life in a more positive and purposeful manner if I came down with a terminal diagnosis really knocked me out of my affair fog aka betrayed spouse fog, not permanently, but for a good long moment of clarity. I realized that even though I am no where near forgiving Green I cannot live my life looking only for the dark side of my life after his affair. I resolved, again, that I have to learn to find ways to control the triggers, lessen the effects of the trauma on me and my family (Green is not included he has to heal himself.) while remembering to take care of myself. I don’t want to be known as the woman who was so devastated by her husbands affair that she stopped living back in January of 2012.

This shift started when I saw how Green reacted to my diagnosis with the STD. Frankly I was very surprised that he actually cared. We had just had such a terrible fight a few days before and his coldness that he resorts to when he feels threatened or hurt was so pronounced that I saw no future for us. The friend that I had counted on for so many years, at that time, was clearly gone, he had been disintegrated along with the parts of our marriage that had been devastated by his infidelity.

When I got the news I was furious and that anger manifested itself in tears. The poor Doctor after finishing the biopsy was concerned and asked, “Are you crying because it hurt? Are you in pain?” She meant the procedure, of course, and I laughed in spite of my tears. I answered, “Yes I am hurt but you didn’t do it. You have been great. My husband is hurting me.” She knew about Green’s unfaithfulness and empathized with me about why I should suffer the consequences of his health choices when I was not an informed nor willing participant. She patted my hand, “You’re right, ” she said “He’s the one who should be here with his butt on a cold table and having his insides scraped out.” I laughed out loud. Maybe it wasn’t medically professional but she made me feel human, connected, and less crazy in that moment. Leaving the doctors I told myself I would not call Green. I would not share anything with him. I was done being vulnerable. If he could do this to me, and live in his own remorseless hell about it, then I decided that I was done with him. Loving him or not, I deserved to be with someone who was going to take care of me NOW.

A few minutes after leaving the medical center out of the blue and on his own, Green called me. Initially I clicked the call off and didn’t answer my phone. I didn’t want to talk to him. I suck at the 180 but perhaps this was a point where I would finally be firm. But then he text-ed and he called again. I text-ed him back that I was very angry with my bad results and that I could not talk to him right then. Green text ed for me to call him. I did not. A few minutes later he called and finally I answered. Fine I would be composed I assured myself. BE COOL I chanted… BE COOL. Yeah right, I sobbed. I told him what the doctor had told me, the explanation of how it had been transmitted, what it means to my health and how yes that he had given it to me. Green was quiet for a moment and then said, via a soft whisper,

“I’m sorry for all the pain I have caused you. I understand if you don’t want to be with me anymore but I do love you and we will get you through this.”

Perhaps its the hallmark of the abused to be swayed by the words of the abuser. But this wasn’t him asking me to stay quiet, to yield to his demands or to make me swallow my pride and just shut up. This was my husband, the man I had counted on to be there for me, being there for me again. Letting me sob and letting me cry. To my credit I didn’t say anything bitchy, as I’ve mentioned before and especially at that moment, I am just too tired to continue the berate him with verbal abuse to make him feel bad. What’s most tragic? It’s tragic to admit that I have not heard that commitment nor ardent dedication in Green’s voice to me in a very very long time. I miss that Green, that kind of security and the feeling of being profoundly and completely loved that his voice on the line had in the past demonstrated to me.neg thoughts

Was Green’s admission real? Is he being real? I don’t know. I still don’t trust him. So now the feelings of doubt, mistrust and hurt creep back in. How do I quiet my negative mind and accept the positive moments we are sharing? This crisis of health could be an opportunity to bond and trust again! Instead the negative thoughts of doubt and resentment eat at what should be moments of comfort and love.

Green and I had a relatively peaceful weekend – not the best but not the worst given that last year at this time he’d had me arrested for slapping him! We puttered around the house, more gardening, and getting some pool time with the kiddos now that our spring has turned so warm. All of the joint work around the house, family events and time with kiddos kept me focused on the bigger picture. What if I wasn’t around to see these lovely girls grow up? What if I never got to plant another set of vegetables with them or watch them dress up to do a princess fashion show? I didn’t want them to remember a grouchy or sad mommy – I want them to remember a fun, loving and connected mommy. I had my moments of triggers but I tried to shift my attention from them or just walk away for a minute to let them come and then let them go. I know Green noticed me get distracted by the triggers but he didn’t call me out on them or express his frustration as he has in the past. Maybe its baby steps… does time really heal all things? I don’t think time heals everything but perhaps the time away from the hurt, the perspective that other crises will come along and that I have to rise up to meet them, will temper the pain that I have found myself stuck in.

I am not sure that Green and I are back to US yet. In fact I know we are not. The doctor told me I can’t have sex for 2 weeks. I laughed… as if we were having sex anyway! Clearly we have a long way to go. I hope that Green’s growing back into the man I used to love. I hope he really meant those words because I need someone else to be the strong one now.

I am positive that my health is not in eminent danger. I’m not planning my wake anytime soon. But the STD diagnosis did remind me that I am mortal and that my time here is not promised to me. If I only have a short time or if I have 50 more years… who do I want to be? I don’t want to be permanently negative and consumed by this pain. I want to be known as the person who survived, thrived and loved in spite of it.

* (I thought the quote was Saul Alinksy but I’ve heard it attributed to Rahm Emmanuel and Winston Churchill so if anyone knows who actually originated the phrase, I’d love to know… that’s just the political science nerd in me. Thanks!)

6 Responses to “Never Let A Good Crisis Go to Waste”

  1. Still Loving Him April 29, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    We’ve also had the medical moments that seem to bring us closer together. The good and the bad come and go. Sometimes we are very close together and other times there’s a space between us the size of the Grand Canyon. It all waxes and wanes. Tonight I was driving behind him on our way home from work and I just kept thinking “He cheated on you.”

    Is that normal? Am I normal. Do all betrayed wives have obsessive thoughts like that?

    I found out I had HPV in 06 or 07 I can’t remember, we’d been together for 6+ years at that point. I made every excuse in the world for it, like maybe it was latent from his ex-wife or something. Then in Nov 2010 he gave me an STD, when my Dr asked me if I’d been with another man or if my husband had been with another woman I acted like he was crazy. I convinced myself that I’d picked it up in a public bathroom or something. I was even afraid that my husband would think I’d been unfaithful. Jesus I was in denial. I feel like such an idiot.

    • Flaca April 29, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      I hear you. I still feel like an idiot myself but I know I’m not. My cheating husband and his whore are the idiots. We trusted and they took advantage. That means I’m a good person & they are not. I’m injured because of them but I’m working on accepting that it’s not on me. Besides the STD I’ve been dealing with other health issues, ALL from stress, and I’ll be damned if I drop dead because of some stupid ass trashy whore.

      Yeah the good and bad are like you said coming and going…. More good than bad. For longer stretches. I just wish I had the entire truth from Green – the truth trickling is what is killing our healing.

      Thinking of you SLH. I hope you’re doing well.

      • Still Loving Him April 30, 2013 at 11:13 am #

        I also had other health issues for months from the stress, lots of tummy problems.

        I’m doing better today. The stress of being in the accident and really realizing just how fragile life is put me in a tizzy. It was hard for me to resign myself to being with my husband knowing how little he cared for me during that time. This morning he reminded me again how horribly sick he’d gotten and that he has and will continue to fight for me and our marriage.

        The trickle truth is a killer. It lasted 4 months for us, until my husband knew I could no longer take it.

        The more time that goes by, the more time there is between him and her, the better things get between him and I. It just learning to live with knowing there ever was a him and her while he was married to me.

  2. zenpoppy April 29, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    I’m glad he was supportive and compassionate this time round.

  3. zenpoppy April 29, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    And I hope you feel better! Most STDs are curable or manageable these days. It’s a horrible situation, but don’t let it get you down.

    • Flaca April 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

      Thanks! I’m hopeful that I can keep up the momentum forward on healing myself! Green healing with me is a bonus but not necessary.

Leave a Reply.

betrayedin2012's Blog

Ten years is the new Forever

affairs, alcohol, and antidepressants

Post-Affair/Post-Suicide Blog Therapy, Uncensored

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

Kissing A Fool

Covered in Kisses and Lies

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Marriage Gems

Research-based marriage tips and insights

Karma's Payment Plan

Life's funny that way

InfinityMadness2

the daily crazies

The Pillars of Her Earth

Understanding Bipolar, and recovering from traumatic events

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

Always Yours, Bee

from accident to affair to ever-after

Lifewithoutinstructions's Blog

living well despite a lack of written instructions

waikikipepper

celebrating change

Renewing a Right Spirit

DJ's Journey to Living Well Again

jack joseph's mom

if love could have saved you, you would have lived forever..

Leave it on the page

A blog about everything

Dawn Rae Miller

young adult author

It won't always be bad...

But maybe it's not as bad as you think...

yes this really did happen

THE STORY OF TRISH from dublin ohio, her adultery, blackmail, and sweet-ass emails!

move beyond the affair

Hope for Healing and Happiness

I Love You But I Am Not In Love With You

Trying to Make Sense of the Divorce

Being a Beautiful Mess

Dealing with the mess of life, love, betrayal, divorce, and dating

The Girl Next Door

The cynic who still wants the fairytale? This aint gonna have a happy ending.

sexdownunder

Sex, Love & Relationships in Australia

trishinreallife

life in all its messy, unedited, brutally honest reality...

The Official blog of Rod Arters

A thought-provoking blog about life, mistakes, faith, hope & grace. Oh, and sometimes it is funny.

AFFAIRCARE

...nouthetic, Christian care after an affair.

unloving you

it's time

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

